Winners – 2019

Zephyr Short Story Competition

Winners 2019

A big thank you to all who took part in the inaugural Zephyr Short Story Competition. We’re delighted to announce the winners …

Open Division

1st Prize
Michaela Tempany (Wellington). ‘The Bach.’

2nd Prize
Feby Idrus (Dunedin). ‘Monster.’

3rd Prize
Louise Nutbean (Oamaru) ‘Boat Shaped People.’

Highly Commended

  • Tiffany Allan (address not given) ‘Rome.’
  • Corey Taylor (Palmerston North) ‘Hoi Polloi.’
  • Shelley Burnefield (Takapau) ‘Meatless.’


Junior Division

1st Prize
Claire Randall (Auckland) ‘Maybe’.

2nd Prize
Shivani Patel (Auckland) ‘The Perfect Shot.’

3rd Prize
Amelia Kirkness (Christchurch) ‘Pianist’s Fingers.’

Highly commended

  • Rebecca Johnson (no address given) ‘I Am Not Hidden.’
  • JackCalder (Christchurch) ‘The Boy Who Wasn’t All Over The Place.’
  • Sinead Riden (Eastbourne) ‘The Line To Hewll Has a Thirty Minute Wait Time.’


We’ll be back again next year. Watch this space!